top of page
  • Writer's picturecommodore leather

The Thomas Cigar Holder


This product is something that I had set out to do from the beginning. I enjoy a nice #cigar from time to time, generally when I am on vacation or having a night out with friends. The problem I always faced was putting the cigar in my pocket or bag to carry it around with me. That was always concerning because you don't want the cigar to get bent or smashed before you get to enjoy it.


Problems breed creativity, right? As makers, we see a problem and think, what can I create to solve that? I had an idea, leather, and the know-how to create something aesthetically pleasing that would protect my cigars. Thus, the Thomas was born. I'll get to the name later in the post.


I've made a few variations of this cigar holder. There is a lined version, meaning that the inside of the holder has a separate thin layer of #leather as opposed to the flesh side of the exterior. There are double and single holders as well as double and singles with pockets for a zippo and cutter.


The lined version and zippo/cutter pockets are reserved for custom orders because they require more precision, material, and time. Also, not everyone uses a zippo or the same cutter so it makes sense to make a barebones version for people that just want something cool to hold their stogie.


I can use a variety of leathers for this product, but I have found that 4-5oz, softer temper leathers tend to work best. I really enjoy working with Acadia Leather's RageLG (pictured above).


Why did I name this cigar holder, the Thomas? If you've read my other posts then you'll know that each product I make receives a relative's name. Thomas is the name of my Father-in-law and he has been instrumental in the design of this product. He can be very particular with his taste so I took his feedback to heart because if I could design a product that met his standards, I knew it would meet the standards of the vast majority.


This is one of my favorite products to make and can't wait to get more of them into customers' hands. If you're interested, send me an email or direct message and we can get something figured out!


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page